Philips VG 8010 Problems ?

Page 1/3
| 2 | 3

By Tom-Cat

Rookie (23)

Tom-Cat's picture

05-02-2003, 22:54

Hi!

I am totally new to MSX community - today I got my first MSX computer and it is a Philips VG 8010. I created a Tape lead for it and downloaded a bunch of (original) .CAS files. Converted them to .WAV and tried loading them to the new beast. Loading works fine, but the problem is that almost NONE of the games I try want to work on this machine. The only two that work are Manic Miner and Master of the Lamps.
Most others just stop loading, show OK message or reset themselves.

I want to know if there is something wrong with the machine, or does it just have not enough memory (32k RAM , 16k VRAM, 32k ROM) for most of the games to work - I tried games like Batman, Head Over Heels, Green Beret, etc.

Some games, like Grog's Revenge and Le-Mans reported that they don't have 48k memory available, so I guess it must be this Sad

And if this is the problem is there a way to add extra 32k memory to it ?

Thank you for your answers.

Best regards,
Tomcat

Login or register to post comments

By Grauw

Ascended (8205)

Grauw's picture

06-02-2003, 01:06

Games which need 48kB of RAM indeed won't work well on a 32kB computer. How to expand RAM? Uhh I really wouldn't know, try and see if there are open sockets on the motherboard next to the RAM already installed. Or you can simply buy another MSX1 which *has* 64kB of RAM (an MSX1 isn't worth more than €5 or so anyway so it won't cost ya Wink), or try to find an MSX1 (non-mapped) memory expansion cartridge.