Problem with Sanyo 5.25 MFD-001

By talou_iz_good

Expert (125)

talou_iz_good's picture

06-05-2018, 16:41

Hi

the first 5.25" disk drive i have had got for MSX is this one :

As you can see, this one seems to have been homemade. But, it was sold with the interface of the sanyo MFD-001 :

And everything's still working very well !

By chance i found recently a sanyo MFD-001 disk drive (without interface) :

This one can read the content of a floppy. But each time i try to launch a program, i have the error message "Disk offline". The program works fine with my first "homemade" disk drive.
Any idea why ?

Login or register to post comments

By rderooy

Champion (306)

rderooy's picture

06-05-2018, 16:52

Interesting case.

Question, that switch on the front of the controller cartridge, what does it do?

Regarding your problem, I'm not an expert, but perhaps you have a calibration issue where it can read the contents (FAT table), but not the files. Are you able to format a new disk in the drive, and store files on it then?

By talou_iz_good

Expert (125)

talou_iz_good's picture

06-05-2018, 16:56

I tryed but in a case nothing's working !!

By rderooy

Champion (306)

rderooy's picture

06-05-2018, 16:56

I also noticed the cable has screws on the end, but the MFD-001 drive side has plastic clips to hold the "ribbon" cable. So I guess the cable is also not original.

By rderooy

Champion (306)

rderooy's picture

06-05-2018, 16:59

talou_iz_good wrote:

I tryed but in a case nothing's working !!

I'm afraid I don't understand what your trying to say. If I understood things correctly, the FILES command from BASIC works, but trying to LOAD/RUN/BLOAD something does not, and gives a disk offline error?

Does a FORMAT also give a disk offline error?

By talou_iz_good

Expert (125)

talou_iz_good's picture

06-05-2018, 18:12

You have understood.
You're right, the connector of the cable was doubtless modified.