Thinking of entering the MSX world... thoughts on the Yamaha CX7M/128?

By Nemoide

Supporter (1)

Nemoide's picture

07-06-2018, 03:01

Greetings! I'm not 100% sure this is the right place for this but I'm a TOTAL NEWBIE to the world of MSX computers and wanted to ask for some advice from folks who know more than me.

I'm drawn to the Yamaha CX5MII/128 because I love 80s synth hardware and 8-bit computers and like the idea of having a MIDI-compatible dedicated music computer. The fact that I can play MSX games on that thing is icing on the cake. Plus, as a native English speaker, being able to get something that was released in America with English manuals makes it sound much more accessible than other Japanese PC formats. (My Japanese language skill is roughly kindergarten-level.)

But I know the CX7M/128 is a more powerful (MSX2) machine that can play EVEN MORE games. But since it was never released in the US, I'm a little afraid of the documentation being only available in Japanese. Could I reasonably expect to use the manuals for the CX5MII/128 and its software with the CX7M? Is the CX7M compatible with all the same cartridges and hardware as the CX5MII?
Are there other concerns I should worry about that I might not be aware of? Could missing Japanese language compatibility with the American computer which might interfere with running a Japanese game? Is the 100 volt standard in Japan something to worry about with these old electronics?

If anyone has any thoughts on which I should get, I'd appreciate it greatly!

Login or register to post comments

By sdsnatcher73

Master (215)

sdsnatcher73's picture

07-06-2018, 08:31

Allmost all MSX software will run on any MSX (or MSX2 if needed by the software). There are some exceptionele, like if they need a KANJI ROM to work, but thoes will not be very interesting to you.