Catapult 0.8.1 Linux Mint

By chalky

Resident (39)

chalky's picture

11-03-2013, 01:00

Having successfully installed openMSX and Catapult 0.8.1 on my eeePC701, I started playing with the Video Mode settings (without fully understanding their function). Unfortunately I set the Scaler value to 3 in Fullscreen. Since [I now realise] this requires a screen capable of 960x720 resolution, and the eeePC701 is only capable of 800x480, Catapult now fails with "Couldn't activate renderer SDL: Could not open any screen: No video mode large enough for 960x720". The problem is that because openMSX now won't start I cannot access the Video Mode settings to change them - and uninstalling then reinstalling all openMSX packages has not reset the parameters. Am I stuffed or is there a way of undoing my stupidity?

Login or register to post comments

By Manuel

Ascended (15829)

Manuel's picture

11-03-2013, 12:09

ah, interesting that it behaves like that...

Anyway, you can recover from this situation by either:
1) editing ~/.openMSX/share/settings.xml and removing the line which says < setting id="scale_factor" >3< /setting > (I had to add some spaces before this forum accepts XML...), which changes it back to the default (2).
2) removing the same file (sets all settings back to default)

Any reason you're running 0.8.1 and not the latest? (Perhaps Linux Mint ships which such an old version...)

By chalky

Resident (39)

chalky's picture

11-03-2013, 12:38

Fantastic - thank you - I don't understand why removing and then reinstalling openmsx, openmsx-data and openmsx-catapult didn't cure the problem, but deleting the settings file (even though it looked empty apart from some skeleton xml!) has done the trick.