Hi all!

By Puffer_Ape

Resident (49)

Puffer_Ape's picture

19-12-2008, 20:35

I just joined up, I've been into classic gaming for a while, but just started to get serious about collecting.

Currently I have a couple of MSX machines on the way, a Sony HB-75 and a Panasonic WSX. I also have a bunch of consoles, Wii, PS2, Dreamcast, Saturn, Turbo Duo (J), Megadrive and a Master System. Computer wise I have a Mac and a Linux box.

My background is in mathematics, but I dropped out midway through Gradschool to stay home and raise my two sons. (Besides, PDEs are dumb.) I've done some programing, my favorite language is Ruby, but I usually end up using c/c++ so I can have speed and access to the libraries. (Like allegro... MMMMM...) I've never really done any assembly (It took me all day to get a working hello world on my old Amiga...) But, I want to correct that deficiency and Z80 on the MSX seems like a gentle way to get started.

I live in the mountains of Southwest New Mexico. And, I imagine I'll have the only MSX machines around. Any other MSXers in the wild west?

Anyway, I'm glad to have stumbled on such a cool community.

Login or register to post comments

By Edwin

Paragon (1182)

Edwin's picture

19-12-2008, 21:18

Welcome!

Indeed not many folks here from the US. Let alone from around the middle of nowhere. Wink

A z80 is indeed a good way to learn some asm. Many projects are still being developed by the people on this and other forums and a lot of them use pure asm. I find it a much more exciting challenge than C++ coding on a modern CPU.

Enjoy!

By Arkhan

Champion (259)

Arkhan's picture

20-12-2008, 15:28

i will have an MSX soon ... im from Ohio!

wooo! USA represent

By Puffer_Ape

Resident (49)

Puffer_Ape's picture

20-12-2008, 17:49

Welcome!

Indeed not many folks here from the US. Let alone from around the middle of nowhere. Wink